Python issues

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> FastCGI/CGI
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Yami King
-


Joined: 08 Sep 2005
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 3:33 pm    Post subject: Python issues Reply with quote

Hi,

About a week ago I installed Abyss Webserver, the first thing I did after installing was installing Python (C:\Python24\), ASP, PHP, PERL (,CGI).
But Yesterday I wanted to test the Python installation so I downloaded Google's SiteMap generator. Did everything I had to do, than I ran it on my local, but it gives me an 500 Internet Server Error..

Could someone help me?
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:11 am    Post subject: Re: Python issues Reply with quote

Yami King,

Have a look on the log/cgi.log file. The server log there any error message related to the launch of the CGI process or any fatal error messages generated by the CGI process (the Python interpreter in this case).
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Yami King
-


Joined: 08 Sep 2005
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found this about python in my log about the Google SiteMaps gen.:
CGI: [C:\Python24\python.exe sitemap_gen.py ]URI: /IWAN/PY/sitemap_gen.pyBad CGI header line [A simple script to automatically produce sitemaps for a webserver,]
CGI: [C:\Python24\python.exe test_sitemap_gen.py ]URI: /IWAN/PY/test_sitemap_gen.pyBad CGI header line [[ERROR] On a filter you must specify a "pattern" to match]
CGI: [C:\Python24\python.exe sitemap_gen.py ]URI: /IWAN/PY/sitemap_gen.pyBad CGI header line [A simple script to automatically produce sitemaps for a webserver,]
usage: setup.py [global_opts] cmd1 [cmd1_opts] [cmd2 [cmd2_opts] ...]
or: setup.py --help [cmd1 cmd2 ...]
or: setup.py --help-commands
or: setup.py cmd --help

error: no commands supplied
CGI: [C:\Python24\python.exe setup.py ]URI: /IWAN/PY/setup.pyBroken pipe


This is what I found on the error log about a python test script that also didn't work:
CGI: [C:\Python24\python.exe index.py ]URI: /IWAN/PY/index.pyBad CGI header line [Hello World]


You can find the complete log here:
http://dtc.goddeloos.nl/cgi.log
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2005 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yami King,

The error you get from Abyss Web Server is relatively self-explanatory: "Bad CGI header line". This means that you script has not sent CGI headers which is a fatal error for the server.

A CGI conformant script must at least send one CGI header followed by a blank line before sending the payload.

A minimal header generation sequence is:

Code:
print "Content-Type: text/html\n\n"


You can also use the CGI library in Python which takes care of all these details.
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
wraithe
-


Joined: 18 Sep 2006
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 8:29 pm    Post subject: "Bad CGI Header Line" Reply with quote

I am having almost the same issue only this is with ActiveHTML. The error I get is

==============
Internal Server Error
Error 500
==============

You can see the page I am trying here: http://www.imfdecoder.ath.cx/f_default.asp or the sample ahtml @ http://www.imfdecoder.ath.cx/ahtml/index.asp

The CGI.log file contains:

==================
CGI: ["C:\Program Files\System Tools\ActiveHTML\AHTML.exe" f_default.asp ] URI: /f_default.asp Bad CGI header line [404 Not Found]

CGI: ["C:\Program Files\System Tools\ActiveHTML\AHTML.exe" index.asp ] URI: /ahtml/index.asp Bad CGI header line [404 Not Found]
==================

IIS is disabled and the site was working fine but two days ago. Any help/pointers will be mucly appreciated.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 1:02 pm    Post subject: Re: "Bad CGI Header Line" Reply with quote

wraithe,

This is a problem with ActiveHTML. It should never output such a bad header. We suggest that you reinstall it (ActiveHTML).
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
wraithe
-


Joined: 18 Sep 2006
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 3:36 pm    Post subject: Done... Reply with quote

This was tried but didn't work. I will try it once more just to be thorough. I'm sure this has been asked but are there no comparable alternatives to ActiveHTML? Perhaps a future release of AWS w/ native Classic ASP support?
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bprsk8r4272
-


Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 124
Location: Rochester, NY

PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 11:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thats because when you uninstall something it still leaves files on your computer prefetch files
_________________
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
wraithe
-


Joined: 18 Sep 2006
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2006 12:30 am    Post subject: No preftech Reply with quote

nah, preftech isn't the problem. I have that set to disabled (via system mechanic). Any other ideas? A reinstall w/ an older version didn't help either. Sent a message to selisoft but haven't heard anything back yet. Stupid thing, I only started my activehtml trial a week or two ago.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2006 3:36 pm    Post subject: Re: Done... Reply with quote

wraithe,

Please contact SeliSoft (ActveHTML) authors and report the problem to them. Tell them that the CGI headers are not being output as they should be.
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
wraithe
-


Joined: 18 Sep 2006
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 3:38 pm    Post subject: MS Script 5.6 Reply with quote

aprelium, feeling it was activehtml's fault i contaced them and they made the suggestion to reinstall MS scripts 5.6 which is the only thing I didn't reinstall... works fine now or at least back to the part where I was at. Now just to resolve this stupid 800a01a8 error.
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aprelium
-


Joined: 22 Mar 2002
Posts: 6800

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 1:18 pm    Post subject: Re: MS Script 5.6 Reply with quote

wraithe,

Thank you for the update.
_________________
Support Team
Aprelium - http://www.aprelium.com
Back to top View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Aprelium Forum Index -> FastCGI/CGI All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB phpBB Group